President Akufo-Addo’s Government Is Indeed Government Of The People, By People And For The People – Edmund Kyei Opines

The Economic Management Team was set up by former president Kufour to steer the affairs of the Ghanaian economy during his tenure of office, the Akuffo Addo administration also mimic same philosophy, the EMT is usually chaired by the Vice President.

The Economic Management Team comprises of Vice President Dr. Bawumiah, Senior Minister Yaw Osafo Marfo, Ken Ofori-Atta, Dr Akoto Owusu Afriyie , John Peter Amewu, Professor Gyan Baffour, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremateng, Dr. Akoto Osei and Professor Joe Amoako Tuffour has done marvelously well but as Dr. Bawumiah said yesterday they still have more to do.

During the town hall meeting organised by EMT and was addressed by the Vice President, I was relieved to hear that benchmark value of imported vehicle has been 30% slashed and that of other goods reduced by 50% and this is commendable on the side of the government.
Importers were complaining recently for high levy and inconvenience at the Port but because Nana Addo led administration is a listening government they acted swiftly to intervene and this has brought all the reductions.
This is not the first time Nana Addo and his Economic Management Team is doing this, I remember he reduced electricity tarif when the government realized the citizens are paying more, the government again waived away the Kayaye nuisance tax and has also granted investors who are ready to participate in the 1D1F some tax holidays.

The EMT has done various interventions aside tax reductions, they have been able to bring down inflation and interest rates, the significant falling of fiscal deficit on cash basis from 6.8% in 2016 to 3.8% 2018, this shows how Dr. Bawumiah led EMT has laid a solid foundation for our country.
It is my wish NPP government remain in power for the next 20 years for Ghana’s economy to develop like the USA and Chinese Economy.

*…… signed…..*
*Edmund Kyei*
*Asokwa Constituency 1st Vice Chairman*.
*NPP Communication Member*