Kotoko go second after beating Wa All Stars

Skipper Amos Frimpong’s 67th minute goal gave Kotoko a deserved 1-0 victory over Wa All Stars on match day 17 of the 2015/16 Premier League. The versatile captain decently headed home Samuel Kyere’s long and well-taken free kick to break the deadlock.

The win sends Kotoko from the 3rd to 2nd position with 30 points thus overtaking arch rivals Hearts of Oak on the strength of the head-to-head rule. AT the moment, one point separates Kotoko and the leaders Wa All Stars who characteristically stretched the Porcupines.

A resolute midfield and defensive play by Wa All Stars left Kotoko with difficulties in penetrating their rear. When the Porcupines managed to break through occasionally, they squandered their chances. Bennett Ofori, Obed Owusu and substitute, Duada Mohammed in turns, missed chances with Bennett Ofori being the worst culprit.

Wa All Stars went on the break a number of times but the Kotoko defence, comprising Edwin Tuffour and Ahmed Adams in the middle; Amos Frimpong and Samuel Kyere on the laterals performed well to contain the visitors’ attack. At other times, Wa All Stars were just wasteful.

As Kotoko desperately searched for the precious goal, Referee Emmanuel Dally Gagba made the Porcupines’ ambition difficult. He ignored numerous fouls including an obvious penalty in the 64th minute when substitute, Kwadwo Poku was brutally fouled by his marker in the box.

At some stage, Referee Dally appeared confused. He awarded non-existent fouls to and also against Kotoko to the utter disappointment of the passionate home crowd. The incensed crowd resorted to booing to show their displeasure.

An appeal by Kotoko’s communications manager, Kwaku Ahenkorah, using the public address system at the stadium, to urge the supporters to be calm, yielded positive result as the angry fans repeatedly hooted Referee Dally anytime he made a bad judgment.

Kotoko line-up: Ernest Sowah, Amos Frimpong, Samuel Kyere, Edwin Tuffour, Ahmed Adams, Theophilus Nyame, Sarfo Gyamfi, Stephen Nyarko/Kwadwo Poku, Obed Owusu/Dauda Mohammed, Bennett Ofori, Eric Donkor/Emmanuel Gyamfi.

Bench: Atta Kusi, Ohene Brenya, Emmanuel Osei, Ofori Antwi.