Kessben media GM wins top GIBA post

The Ghana Independent Broadcasters Association (GIBA) as part of their 11th Annual General meeting held in Kumasi elected new executive members to run the affairs of the Association for the next three years.
The elected executive members’tenure which begins from June 2017, will expire in June 2020.

At its Annual General Meeting held in the Ashanti Regional capital Kumasi on Thursday, 8th June, 2017, Mr. Andrew Danso Aninkora the general manager of Kessben Media, and former Executive Council member of the Association, was elected as the new President of the Association.
Other executive members elected were, Mr Ernest Boateng of eTV, as Vice-President; Mr Matthew Martin Anderson of Aseda FM; Mr George Fausta Baffoe of Kantinka FM; Mr. Prince Hari Crystal of Crystal TV; Mr. Cecil Thomas Sunkwa-Mills of GoTV; and Mr Klaus Vonbackustein of GhOne TV were also elected to serve as executive members.

The new president, Mr. Andrew Danso Aninkora, expressed his gratitude to the members of the Association for the confidence reposed in him and the other executives, and promised to ensure sanity on Ghana’s airwaves.

He said in an interview that, “One of the things we want to do is to bring up people to understand that we owe this country a service. It’s not about making money, but the fact that at the end of the day, what are we giving to society at large? We have to let people understand that we are working within the laws of this country, it must be beneficial to the people of this country.”

Mr. Aninkora said GIBA will soon embark on a nationwide tour to receive the complaints of its members and address them.

He thanked the outgoing executives for their hard work, and appealed to them to continue to support the Association.

The outgoing president, Mr. Akwasi Agyeman of eTV, pledged the support of the other outgoing executives to the to the Association and its new executives.