Electricity Market Oversight Committee Inaugurated

The Minister for Energy, Hon. Boakye Agyarko has today, Friday December 22, 2017 inaugurated the Electricity Market Oversight Panel in line with L.I. 1937. The L.I. 1937 provides for the establishment of the Electricity Market Oversight Panel (EMOP) as an oversight body to supervise the administration and operation of the Wholesale Electricity Market (WEM) by the Transmission Utility and advise the Energy Commission accordingly.

The membership of the EMOP is made up of institutional representation recommended by the L.I. 1937, nominations by market participants and experts appointed by the Minister of Energy.

The members of the EMOP are:
1. Michael Opam – member
2. Executive Secretary of PURC
3. Executive Secretary of EC
4. Chief Executive of GRIDCo
5. Head of System Operations, GRIDCo
6. Ebenezer Baiden
7. Samuel K. Desouza
8. Nana Osae Nyampong VI
9. Abubakari Obuama Addy
10. William Amuna
11. Eric Kyem – Administrator

The Electricity Market Oversight Committee that has a commitment to build a robust and competitive power sector will;
a. Monitor the general performance of the market administration functions of the Utility
b. Ensure the smooth operation of the wholesale electricity market
c. Review the operations of the wholesale electricity market and studies related to the development of the market
d. Monitor pre-dispatch schedules
e. Resolve disputes referred to it by market participants in respect of transactions in the wholesale electricity market.