Eastern Region: 7DCES Confirmed, 1PM Elected

7 District Chief Executives nominated by the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo were on Friday 5th May, 2017 confirmed at 7 different Districts in the Eastern Region.

The 7 include Eld. Richmond Amponsah, a 46years old Private Business man who is also the constituency vice Chairman for the New Patriotic Party in the Akyem Achiase Constituency. Out of a total of 38 Assembly Members who casted their votes, 37 voted yes, representing -97.73% whiles one of the votes got spoilt.

The rest are Isaac Agyapong who had 84.4% votes to become the District Chief Executive of the Kwahu East,
Seth Birikorang Ofosu with 100% votes for Denkyembour District,
Felix Nartey Odjao, with 97.8% for Upper Manya Krobo District, Simon Kwaku Tettey with 100% for Lower Manya Krobo District,
Dennis Edward Aboagye with 97.4% for Akuapem North and Frank Aidoo with 100% votes for Akuapem South District.

Following the confirmation of Eld. Richmond Kofi Amponsah who was the Assembly Member for Akyem Akenkausu Electoral Area and the Presiding Member(PM) of the Birim South District Assembly as the District Chief Executive, the PM seat for the District became vacant and needed to be filled.

2 Assembly Members: 41 years old Mr. Daniel Asamoah Prah and Mr. Aboagye Gyimah filed to contest with Mr. Prah polling 32votes with his Mr. Gyimah polling 6votes. Mr. Prah was then sworn into office by the Judge of the Akyem Swedru Circuit Court, Mr. Alexander Owrae.

Hon. Eric Kwakye Daffour, the Eastern Regional Minister advised the newly confirmed DCEs to always respect the Assembly members and solicit for their support daily and ensure participatory planning and democracy at the district.

Meanwhile the confirmation continues this week after which all the confirmed MDCEs will meet at the Regional Coordinating Council at Koforidua for Swearing in.


Credit: Kwasi Frimpong