Over 30 NPP MPs sue government over pensions

Forty former lawmakers including current Senior Minister Yaw Osafo Marfo and acting chairman of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) Freddie Blay have sued the Attorney General and the Finance Ministry over their pensions.

The ex-MPs, who served during the Kufuor administration, are demanding at least GHc 233,495 each, totaling Gh¢10 million (including interest).

According to the plaintiffs, the Chinery-Hesse Committee Report recommended that persons who exited Parliament, having served two full terms and are above 50 years, are entitled to pension benefits. The plaintiffs are arguing in their writ that the initial lump sum was GHc 13,735 per head, but interest accrued on the amount from January 2009 to February 2016 ballooning the figure to GHc 233,495.

They mentioned that the Attorney General had directed the Ministry of Finance in a letter dated June 25, 2015 to make the payments, but the latter refused to act on it, causing them “much distress and suffering.”

Below is the full list of the plaintiffs:

1. David Apasera

2. Dr. Charles Brempong-Yeboah

3. Francis Aggrey Agbotese

4. Nii Adu Daku Mante

5. Kwame Adusa Okerchiri

6. Godfred Otchere

7. Moses Dani Baah

8. K. Brandford Adu

9. Victor Okuley Nortey

10. Yaw Barimah

11. Kwadwo Darko Adjei

12. Samuel Gyamfi Adu

13. Joseph Tsatsu Agbenu

14. Eugene Atta Agyapong

15. Abraham Osei Aidoo

16. Dr. Kwame Ampofo

17. Dr. Matthew Kwaku Antwi

18. Dr. Kofi Konadu Apraku

19. Yaw Mensah Asiedu

20. Angela Baiden-Amissah

21. Kwamena Bartels

22. Freddie W.A. Blay

23. Sampson Boafo

24. Chrisitne Churcher

25. Kenneth Dzirasah

26. Isaac E. Edumadze

27. Nkrabea Effah Dartey

28. Kwame Owusu Frimpong

29. Kitson Akomeng Kissi

30. Joseph Henry Mensah

31. Mrs Anna Nyamakye

32. Albert Kwaku Obbin

33. Yaw Osafo-Maafo

34. Francis Mensah Osafo

35. Akwasi Adjei Osei

36. K. Owusu Adjapong

37. K. Opoku Adusei

38. Quarm Sam

39. Alex Sofo Seidu

40. Alhassa Malik Yakubu